Some thoughts on Christmas from someone who doesn’t celebrate it

by jemmina

image

Nativity set made of Olive wood from Bethlehem.

As a result of a few interesting events in the past, my family doesn’t celebrate Christmas.
Never have, probably never will.
We get together with the family(when possible), look at Christmas lights and sometimes I even bake gingerbread houses.
But I have never actually celebrated Christmas.

Despite this, I am fully immersed in Christian culture so I’m not immune to Christian Christmas culture.
And to be honest, I’m not a big fan.
Something I have noticed is Christian culture loves to talk about The Spirit Of Christmas. I think I’ve figured this out as being generous and kind-hearted and simply Christ-like.
Christian Culture loves talking about Christmas but I hear very little about the incarnation.
I have heard many a message on how not to get caught up in gift giving(but to still give, because, y’know, spirit of Christmas and stuff), on how to different and show the world that Christmas is ours.
As a millennial raised in church I get tired of motivational sermons and fluff talks about ‘how to live a Christian life’ etc. but I love hearing about Jesus. The idea that the divine became human, the Word-flesh, gives me goosebumps.
And it gives me hope.
Hearing (for the hundredth time) about how to get into the spirit of Christmas, does not.

